Just try to find someone who doesn’t like Thanksgiving. It’s virtually impossible to find someone who doesn’t enjoy warm gatherings of friends and family filled with laughter, love and good food.
However, the fun can come to a sudden halt when a Lynchburg police car lights up behind you and you’re suddenly faced with being arrested for drunk driving.
Many frequent readers of our criminal defense blog know that police departments across the Commonwealth of Virginia send out extra DUI patrols during the holidays. Those extra patrols increase the likelihood that you will be pulled over and given a roadside sobriety test.
Some people in this situation will decline to take a breath or blood test. However, you should know that the DMV says Virginia law requires courts to suspend your driver’s license for a full year if you refuse to submit to a test. The punishment for a second test refusal is a three-year suspension.
Because a second test refusal is a Class 1 misdemeanor, your license suspension will run consecutive to the license revocation period you receive if you are convicted of DUI. You will also not be eligible for a restricted driver’s license during the suspension for the test refusal.
A conviction for a first offense DUI can result in harsh penalties, including:
- A sentence to serve up to a year in jail
- A driver’s license suspension of up to 12 months
- A fine of up to $2,500
No one should face the court alone when there is that much on the line. Before speaking with a prosecutor, talk to a criminal defense attorney who will fight for your rights, freedom and driving privileges.