The drunk driving laws in Virginia are quite strict, making this state a bad place to get pulled over for a DUI in. If you have been arrested for crimes related to drunk driving, Mark B. Arthur, P.C., is here to walk you through the nuances of the law and understand where you stand with it.
First off, your blood alcohol content (BAC) level will determine how severe your potential charges will be. If you’re under the age of 21, you only need to have a BAC volume of .02 percent, which is only one fourth of the BAC limit that those over 21 have. It’s 0.08 percent for everyone else. Commercial vehicle drivers, regardless of their age, cannot have a BAC level of over .04 percent due to safety concerns of being responsible for the lives of other passengers.
You should also be aware of the fact that Virginia is a state with implied consent laws. What does that mean for you? Essentially, as soon as you hit the road, you’re implying that you consent to any breath analysis test that the police give you. This means that if you refuse to take a breathalyzer test, you’re actually breaking a law and could end up with even more charges.
To those who are up against serious drunk driving charges, you know that avoiding a conviction is the way to ensure that you won’t be left dealing with severe and potentially lasting penalties. If you would like to read more about the possible negative consequences of a drunk driving conviction and what you can do to in this situation, our web page on DUI-related crimes is linked here.