People carry knives for many reasons. Some use knives for fishing, hunting, work, and even hobbies. Chances are that you use a knife for something in your life, but do you know the laws surrounding them? The law classifies knives as weapons, which means that illegally possessing or carrying one can land you in hot water.
Concealing a knife occurs when you hide a knife from someone else’s view or when it’s in plain view but disguised as another object. A court may charge you with a Class 1 misdemeanor and you could face up to one year in prison and/or a $2,500 fine.
However, there are some individuals permitted by law to carry knives. For instance, you may carry a knife in your own home or business. Some of the other exceptions include:
- Judges, police officers, and attorneys.
- Mail carriers.
- Hunters while hunting legally.
- Being a member of a weapons collecting club at or on your way to a legitimate weapons exhibition if you transport the weapon properly.
- Transporting your knife from home to a place of purchase or repair.
Under Virginia law, prosecutors can charge you with intent to barter, gift, or sell a knife for possessing one. If convicted, you may pay a $250 fine. The potential legal consequences are why it’s important to always handle knives properly in Virginia.
It’s a good idea to exercise extreme caution when possessing any bladed weapon. Carelessly transporting any weapon could lead to significant legal trouble. Owning knives in Virginia is fine but you must do so in accordance with the law.