It is no secret anymore that you do not want to be caught speeding in Virginia. Fines can be extremely expensive compared to other states. In some cases, people have even had to spend a few days in jail.
If you are originally from out of state and live in Virginia for college, it is important that you are aware how the state’s speeding laws work. Many people run afoul of the state’s reckless driving law without even realizing it.
How Virginia Defines Reckless Driving
According to Virginia law, reckless driving is going any speed over 80 mph or more than 20 mph above the posted speed limit.
On Interstates in Virginia, such as I-95 and I-81, the maximum speed limit is 70 miles per hour. We all know how many trucks are on these roads, and how nerve-wracking they can make things. When you are passing these trucks, make sure you mind your speed.
Make Sure To Check Your Ticket
Reckless driving is a misdemeanor charge in Virginia. However, the officer who pulled you over is not likely to arrest you. Instead, when filling out the ticket, he or she is likely to mark “RD” on the ticket.
Many times, the officer will not offer any explanation. Only later on do you find you that you are facing a misdemeanor charge for which you could end up in jail and dealing with a license suspension.
Talk With A Lawyer About Your Options
Some counties in Virginia will let you just pay the fine and be done with it. However, this could mean you will have a criminal conviction on your record if you are charged with reckless driving.
Talk with a lawyer before doing anything. A local criminal defense lawyer, such as one who knows the courts in Lynchburg and the surrounding area, is likely to be able to give you advice about how some judges treat reckless driving violations. Stories are everywhere of judges in Virginia who will throw someone in jail for the weekend for driving 90 mph. Make sure you are doing everything possible to protect your rights.