Have You Been Charged With First-Offense DUI?

If you have been charged with drunk driving in Virginia, you face harsh penalties, even if it is your first offense. Virginia law imposes the following penalties for a first DUI offense:

  • Jail time: Minimum of five days in jail if blood alcohol concentration (BAC) was .15 or above. Minimum of 10 days in jail if BAC was .20 or above
  • Fines and penalties: Mandatory $250
  • License suspension: One year
  • Ignition interlock device: Minimum of six months

The criminal penalties are only the beginning. If convicted, your insurance rates will likely skyrocket. A DUI conviction on your criminal record may make it difficult to get a job or obtain a professional license.

Do not despair. You are innocent until proven guilty in the eyes of the law. As a lawyer with more than 18 years of experience, including four as a prosecutor, I know how to expose weaknesses in the state's case against you. I will do everything in my power to help you avoid the harsh consequences of a first-time DUI conviction.

As severe as the penalties are for a first-time offense, they are that much worse for a second, third or subsequent offense.

Talk To A Lawyer First

A DUI arrest is a frightening experience, but you don't have to go through it alone. I am here to serve as your guide and advocate throughout the legal process. Call my law office today at 434-338-7028 or contact me online to arrange your free initial consultation.