Fighting DUI Charges In Virginia

Taking a DUI arrest lightly is a huge mistake. Virginia law is clear-cut and very strict. If you do not have a drunk driving defense lawyer to fight for you, you will suffer the consequences.

As a former prosecutor and current defense attorney, I, Mark B. Arthur, have the skill and the knowledge to do battle on your behalf. I will do everything in my power to get the charges dismissed or dropped to lesser offenses and to negotiate the best deal possible.

With more than 18 years of experience, including four as a prosecutor, I know how to challenge DUI evidence to serve my clients' interests. If we have to go to court, I am always ready to fight for you.

I am prepared to handle any driving under the influence case, including those involving underage DUI accusations and DUI involving drugs.

Understanding Drunk Driving Charges

If you are pulled over on suspicion of driving under the influence (DUI) in Virginia, you should be aware of the following:

  • You are considered drunk if your blood alcohol level is .02 percent or more if you're under the age of 21, .08 percent or more if you're 21 or older. The cutoff is .04 percent if you're driving a commercial vehicle.
  • Virginia has an implied consent law, which means if you refuse to take a field sobriety test such as a Breathalyzer¬ģ test, your license will automatically be suspended for a minimum of one year.
  • DUI convictions result in penalties that can include jail time, fines, license suspension, mandatory education and installation of an ignition interlock device in your car. The severity of the penalties imposed is determined by the judge and by the number of offenses you already have on your record.
  • If you are charged with DUI, you need to call a lawyer immediately.

Even first-time offenders face harsh consequences. If you should have a second or third offense within five to 10 years of a previous offense in Virginia, you can face mandatory jail time, license suspension and fines.

Trust Your Case To An Experienced Lawyer

A DUI/DWI arrest is a frightening experience, but you don't have to go it alone. To get the legal help you need for defending against drunk driving charges in Virginia, contact my law office online or by telephone at 434-338-7028.